Matte Stamping

Like last time, this weeks color of choice for “Lacke in Farbe … und bunt!” by Lena and Cywblack – gives me an opportunity to try a look I wanted to give a go as soon as I saw pictures.

matte stamping

Usually it is done the other way around, glossy painting on a matte or mattified polish, but I realised my matte top coat (p2) is not matte enough but gives more of a satin finish, and also lightens the color too much. I also had the problem that none of my clear polishes or top coats worked, not one of them gave enough shine when applied as thin stamping (and I’m still not able to freehand some delicate pattern). I tried pretty much every clear polish I had, even tested black polish, regular and stamping, but to no avail – has anyone out there tried this look and can give me a suggestion which polish might work?

So I decided to give matte stamping on glossy polish a try, and it worked ok, but again I wasn’t too happy with the p2 matte top coat. I’m not sure if this is an issue with matte top coat in general, but it gave off small white dust/crumbs, and left somewhat rough edges along the pattern. I could fix it a bit by rubbing some oil over the nail and polish it off, but you can still see some of it on the picture above.

Luckily, this is only visible on close up, at regular viewing distance it looks as classy as I imagined it to be and changed the more gothic vibe of black polish to something elegant. 🙂 I surely will do this again, and I’m still not done trying glossy stamping on matte polish, but I think I really need a different matte top coat either way. I read a lot of good reviews about essie Matte About You, has anyone of you tried it and can confirm this?

Base coat: Sally Hansen Miracle Cure
Main color: essence colour & go 144 black is back
Top coat: Sally Hansen Insta-Dri
Stamping: p2 matte victim top coat with Bundle Monster BM-314

16 thoughts on “Matte Stamping

  1. Ich bin ja so komplett stampingblond – deswegen kann ich dir mit Stampinglacken gar nicht weiterhelfen :/ Aber hast dus mal mit etwas dicklicheren Topcoats probiert? Die könnten ja eigentlich besser halten – theoretisch… Aber ich muss sagen, dass ich das Design so total klasse finde und man auch gar nicht sieht, dass dir der matte Topcoat solche Probleme bereitet hat! Sieht einfach super aus, toll, dass du diese Woche wieder dabei bist 🙂

    • Also mein dickster Lack, Seche Vite, hat nicht funktioniert. Evtl. wäre der BTGN einen Versuch wert, aber da hatte ich keinen da. Ich hab sogar den absolut furchtbaren Gel-Look Top Coat von essence probiert und gehofft, daß er vielleicht wenigstens dafür was taugt, aber nö, nichtmal das. Ich hab aber auch mittlerweile noch etwas gegoogelt, und teilweise wurde da mit Base Coats gestempelt, was ich tatsächlich nicht versucht habe. Es ist also noch alles offen, und ich werde weiter testen und berichten. 😀

  2. Also ich muss sagen, das Design ist WUNDERSCHÖN und da gibts aber mal rein gar nix zu meckern! 😀 Ich hab das leider noch nie ausprobiert, aber wenn ich das jetzt bei dir sehe, muss ich das allerbaldigst auch mal machen. Sieht einfach nur toll aus. Richtig schön!

    • Oh ja, mach mal, ich bin dann schon auf deine Erfahrungen gespannt, vielleicht hast du das bessere Händchen bei der Lackwahl. 🙂

  3. Sieht toll aus! Ich habe auch mal mattes Stamping versucht, aber mit dem Rival de Loop-Mattlack hat es überhaupt nicht geklappt … ich glaube, ich muss mir mal den von P2 holen …

    • Also ganz so glücklich war ich mit dem p2 ja auch nicht, aber ich kenn auch den Rival de Loop nicht, kann also nix zu einem Vergleich sagen. Aber ich habe noch einen dm Gutschein, der auf Einlösung wartet, und da wird dann wohl der essie Matte About You ins Körbchen hüpfen, und ich kann dann da evtl. ein kleines Vergleichsposting machen. 🙂

  4. oh das sieht ja voll schön aus…da schau ich nächstesmal in dm ob ich den mattcoat finde ^^ und dann muss ich das auch mal ausprobieren 🙂

    lieben Greuß,Janina

Leave a comment